UEFA’s Best Women’s Player in Europe was launched in 2013 as an initiative of UEFA in partnership with ESM.
The accolade recognises the best player appearing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the previous season, irrespective of her nationality. Players are judged by their performances in all competitions, at both domestic and international level.
The jury is composed of the head coaches of the 12 highest-ranked teams in the latest UEFA women’s national team rankings, together with the coaches of the eight clubs which participated in the quarter-finals of the UEFA Women’s Champions League. Also on the panel are 20 journalists specialising in women’s football, who are selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group. The final result is based on the total number of points from the votes cast by the coaches and journalists.
A The handing-over ceremony takes place around the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, end of august.
  • 2022 – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
    • Best coach - Sarina Wiegman (England)
  • 2021 – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
    • Women’s Best coach Lluis Cotés (Barcelona)
    • Women’s Best Goalkeeper Sandra Panos (Barcelona)
    • Women’s Best Defender Irene Parades (Barcelona)
    • Women’s Best Midfielder Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
    • Women’s Best Forward Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona)
  • 2020 – Pernille Harder
    • Women’s Best coach Jean-Luc Vasseur (Olympique Lyon)
    • Women’s Best Goalkeeper Sarah Bouhaddi (Olympique Lyon)
    • Women’s Best Defender Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyon)
    • Women’s Best Midfielder Dzsenifer Marozsan (Olympique Lyon)
    • Women’s Best Forward Pernille Harder (Vfl Wolfsburg)
  • 2019 - Lucy Bronze
  • 2018 - Pernille Harder
  • 2017 - Lieke Martens
  • 2016 - Ada Hegerberg
  • 2015 - Celia Sasic
  • 2014 - Nadine Kessler
  • 2013 - Nadine Angerer